1000 SCHOLARSHIP FOR DEVELOPING COUNTRIES | 2012-2013

The Heinrich Böll Foundation grants scholarships to approximately 1,000 undergraduates, graduates, and doctoral students of all subjects and nationalities per year, who are pursuing their degree at universities, universities of applied sciences (‘Fachhochschulen’), or universities of the arts (‘Kunsthochschulen’). We expect our scholarship recipients to have excellent academic records, to be socially and politically engaged, and to have an active interest in the basic values of the foundation: ecology and sustainability, democracy and human rights, self determination and justice.

Germany: Undergraduate Scholarship | Postgraduate Scholarship | Master Scholarship | PhD Scholarship

By 1 September 2012 applications can be handed in by:

A. Applicants for a student scholarship

Students of all subjects who are pursuing a FIRST university degree and who gained their university entrance qualification from a German school (‚Bildungsinländer_innen‘)

1. Student scholarship – general: 

  • Applications are possible before you begin your study programme or within the first three semesters.

Special (but not exclusive) focus groups are:

  • First-generation students, students with a migrant background, or students from universities of applied sciences (‘Fachhochschulen’).
  • Students in MINT study programmes (mathematics, informatics, natural sciences, or technical subjects), especially with an environmental focus (e.g. environmental studies, climate studies, renewable energies etc.).

2. Student scholarship – journalism programme „Medienvielfalt, anders: Junge Migrantinnen und Migranten in den Journalismus“

  • Applications are possible before you begin your study programme or within the first three semesters.

B. Applicants for a doctoral scholarship (PhD)
1. Doctoral students of all subjects who gained their university entrance qualification in Germany and who wish to do their doctoral studies in Germany:

  • Applicants must provide proof that they have been accepted as a doctoral student by an institution of higher education in Germany or an EU country.
  • Preference will be given to dissertation projects related to the working areas of the Heinrich Böll Foundation.

2. Doctoral scholarships: Focus programme “Transformation Research”

  • Doctoral students from Germany and abroad who would like to apply for the focus programme”Transformation Research”.
  • Formal requirements like in paragraph B.1 or D.1.

By 1 March 2013 applications can be handed in by:

C. Applicants for a student scholarship

1. Students of all subjects who are pursuing a FIRST university degree and who gained their university entrance qualification from a German school (‘Bildungsinländer_innen‘)

1.1. Student scholarship – general: 

  • Applications are possible before you begin your study programme or within the first three semesters.

Special (but not exclusive) focus groups are:

  • First-generation students, students with a migrant background, or students from universities of applied sciences (‘Fachhochschulen’).
  • Students in MINT study programmes (mathematics, informatics, natural sciences, or technical subjects), especially with an environmental focus (e.g. environmental studies, climate studies, renewable energies etc.).

Further information about 2012-2013 scholarship application, please click HERE

36 Responses

  1. Salut, je suis un haïtien en classe terminale (Bacc 2) mais je n’aurai pas de possibliter économique pour rentre en universitaire pour l’année academique 2012-2013 pour cela j’aimerais que vous m’aidez a obtenir une bourse universitaire. . . Mon émail est achille.peterson@yahoo.fr AIDE-MOI

  2. hi ,i hv completed pharm.d n from pakistan.how can i get scholarship 4 further studies?

  3. Please i will love to be admited through a undergraduate schorlarship to continue my education. I am from nigeria. I have credits in all my ordinary level subjects

  4. Am Awee who got a diploma in Environmental Health science from Makerere university in Uganda and want to be offered scholarship for undergraduate to continue with my education.Please update me.

  5. Am ashenafi Getachew from Ethiopia i have BSC in animal production and health from jimma university and i want to upgrade my lesson. please update me.

  6. hi i am naveed from pakistan. please tell me who can i get this undergradute scholarship ?

  7. i want to get undergraduate scholarship how can i apply

  8. I am wubit i have BBC in public health from haramaya universty i want to upgrad my leson.i am frome ethiopia

  9. Iam Halson yeliko from Tanzania seeking for scholarship for masters studies, i have completed my Bachelor of science with education at St. John’s University of Tanzania, please help me because iam from poor from

  10. HI IAM ANNA MBEHO FROM TANZANIA SEEKING FOR A SCHOLARSHIP FOR MASTERS IN HRM…I HAVE A BACHELOR DEGREE OF PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION

  11. I GREAT YOU IN THE NAME OF OUR SAVIOUR JESUS CHRIST.
    IAM
    KIWANUKA TONNY AGED 19 FROM UGANDA KAMPALA AND A CHRISTIAN.THE REASON WHY I WIRITTEN TO IS TO ASK FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE IN MY
    EDUCATION. I FINISHED MY SENIOR SIX LAST YEAR BUT NOW I HAVE FAILED TO
    CONTINUE WITH MY EDUCATION IN HIGHER INSTITUTION BECAUSE THEY CHARGE
    ALOT OF MONEY YET MY GUARDIAN WHO PAYS FOR ME THE FEES CANNOT
    GENERATE IT BECAUSE SHE CARRIES OUT A SMALL SCALE BUSINESS FROM WHICH
    WE EARN A LIVING AND HAS ALSO TO LOOK AFTER HIS SONS AND DAUGHTERS.I DID COURSE COMBINATION BCM/E AND I WANT TO DO MEDICINE.
    I HAVE WRITTEN TO YOU TO SEEK FOR YOUR HELP TO A SCHOLARSHIP AND BETTER EDUCATION.IM WILLING TO SET UP PROJECTS THAT HELP STUDENTS LIKE ME.
    I WILL BE GREATFUL IF ASSIST ME WITH
    ANY THING THANK YOU MAY THE ALMIGHTY GOD BLESS YOU.

  12. Im from pakistan. I have done mba finance and seeking for international schlrshp. Kindly tel me how can i get and how i aply

  13. my name is Daphne Nyikadzino . I am from Zimbabwe . I kindly ask for assistance in my education. Currently I am doing Advanced Level and I hope to pass

  14. Am julius from uganda ijoined university in 2010 in NKUMBA university and afforded 1 year of tution dues. Iwold like to continue with my education in peoject planning and management scholarship from within uganda and out side uganda.
    Contact me on +256783358222
    Email jkaparaga@yahoo.com

  15. my name is mengiste zeleke from ethiopia. i’m looking for international scholarship to upgrade my further studies in geophysics or other related fields .i have BSCdgree in physics and earth science

  16. I am Isaac P.Podah from Liberia.I have earned a first degree in Public Administration.I would appreciate where you to grant me scholarship for my Master Degree.I am ready at any time to start.Please also help me with the procedure
    in applying.My contact # is 0777763660,Emil address.isaacpodah@yahoo.com

  17. I wish to be given an opportunity and guidelines to study bachelor degree of journalism/media or communication in Luxembourg through scholarships despite my low socio-economic status and my remote rural Nigerian disadvantages

  18. I want to study communications please sponsor me

  19. Iam looking for an undergratuate scholarship.I have my ordinary level results and iam currently doing Alevel,and iam writting my final exams on November.

  20. Am very much interested in stadying engineering course ( electrical and electronics) am from Zambia i have distinctions in maths, English biology, science ( chemistry and physics) merit in woodwork and additional math and credit in Geometrical mechanical draw. How can i have a scholarship?

  21. Hi,am Nelly and i would wish to further my studies,how can i apply4a scholarship?thanks

  22. my name is Dejenu Nigussie from ethiopia. i’m looking for international scholarship to upgrade my further studies in MPH or other related Social sciences fields .i have BA dgree in Tourism Management and MA in Social psychology how can i get free scholar ship for 2013

  23. Am a 1st year student a the University of Eldoret in Kenya pursuing Bsc.Computer Science.Could you please offer me a scholarship, for am interested in studying in Germany.

  24. my name is Hussein I’m from Yemen I want study college in this country

  25. How I can I get free scholar ship

  26. my name is Desta Gebi from ethiopia. i’m looking for international scholarship to upgrade my further studies in Water Resources or other related Engineering fields .i have BA dgree in Water Resources Environmental Engineering how can i get free scholar ship for 2013

  27. Hi there my names are Hassan Ibrahim Musa from Nigeria seeking for scholarship to study

  28. My names are hassan ibrahim musa.i wil be grateful if u could give me an offer to study bsc mathematics due to my economy

  29. I was studying Master’s in Syria in the field of civil engineering and I was studying a second year Master and I want to get master’s degree
    I am in urgent need of scholarship in any country in the world

  30. Hi, I am a graduate of Accounting and wish to under go a post-graduate program. Can u please write back to me regarding the procedures and requirements via my E-mail:alyibrahim4@gmail.com.

    Faithfully your’s
    Ibrahim Aliyu.

  31. Hi, my name is mamoud from sierra leone and i have just completed my A+ certification and i want a scholarship to study N+ abroad.

  32. Assefa Abelieneh Berhanu
    Email: assefa2007 @gmail.com
    Tell phone +251912117931
    To world bank scholarship
    Subject: Application For Granting and scholarship supporting fund for, Graduate Research Degree Candidature And Scholarship in university of Southern Australia

    Dear Sir/Madam! Many greeting for you with a very keen interest to be as a PhD student in project management .I have applied the department of Resource and Environment in University of southern Australia university and I have gotten an admission offer with requirement of scholar ship funding .I know that your organization demands innovative, committed, hard working and value driven professionals in the discipline of project mangement in line with environmental resource management and climate change adaptation.

    Now I have been working as lecturer in Gondar University, since September 11, 2011. I have 13 years progressive experiences in areas of development agent, development program facilitator and coordinator in the ministry of agriculture and rural development .

    I have played a lot in supporting sustainable livelihood strategies of poor people in water, forest, soil and other natural and environmental resource conservations and development.
    Moreover, I have worked my thesis research by the title called Community Based Watershed Development for Climate Change Adaptation in Choke Mountain (upper Blue Nile): in the case of upper Muga watershed, in east Gojjam of Ethiopia and learnt so many things from the research. Then now I have a vision and ample motivation in the area of Environment and land resource development discipline. It is not only a matter of motivation but also my country Ethiopia in general and my organization in special manner demands these types of professional to alleviate the persistence poverty of the country.
    Therefore, I hope my interest, educational qualification and work experience commensurate to your scholarship objectives and goals that is why I am applied. Finally I believe it will be considered so that I shall be a part of your scholarship beneficiary soon and learn as PhD candidate in university of southern Australia and help me to achieve my ends as well extend the height of Excellency for struggling climate change hazards negative impact on human being together.
    Sincerely
    Assefa Abelieneh

  33. -)

  34. am a Tanzanian, aged 20 years old, am looking for undergraduate scholarship in business couse my mother cant aford to pay me a fees so i can continue with my studies hope you will help me find a scholarship, thanks

  35. Wubshet from ethiopia.now im 1st year medical student in dbtu.so,coud you pleas offer me ascholarship?

Leave a Reply

