2012-2013 Korean Government Scholarships for International Students

Korean government will provide scholarships for international students who wish to study undergraduate program in South Korea for academic year 2012-2013.

1. Objective
The objective of the Korean Government Scholarship Program for an undergraduate degree is to provide international students ( including students from developing countries ) with an opportunity to conduct advanced studies at higher educational institutions in Korea in order to promote international exchanges in education and mutual friendship between the countries.

2. Total Number of Scholarships Available: 100 [from 62 countries]
Afghanistan 1, Angola 2, Azerbaijan 1, Bangladesh 3, Bolivia 2, Brazil 2, Brunei 1, Bulgaria 1, Butan 1, Cambodia 2, Chile 1, Colombia 3, Congo(DRC) 1, Dominica 2, Egypt 1, El Salvador 1, Ethiopia 3, Gabon 1, Ghana 2, Guatemala 1, Indonesia 2, Iran 2, Japan 2, Kazakhstan 2, Kenya 2, Kuwait 1, Kyrgyzstan 2, Laos 2, Malaysia 1, Mexico 2, Mongolia 3, Mozambique 1, Myanmar 1, Nepal 3, Nigeria 2, Oman 1, Pakistan 2, Panama 2, Paraguay 2, Peru 3, Philippines 2, Poland 1, Romania 2, Rwanda 1, Russia 2, Saudi Arabia 1, Senegal 1, Singapore 1, South Africa 1, Sri Lanka 3, Sweden 1, Tajikistan 1, Tanzania 1, Thailand 1, Timor-Este 1, Turkey 1, Uganda 1, Ukraine 2, Uzbekistan 2, Venezuela 1, Vietnam 2, Yemen 1

3. Academic Programs: Undergraduate degree course (4 yrs.) after preliminary Korean Language course (1yr.)

  • Grantees should take a preliminary Korean language course at the institution designated by NIIED. The institution will be specified in a letter of invitation after the announcement of final successful candidates.
  • Grantees should reach level 3 in TOPIK after the completion of a Korean language course.
  • The grantees with level 5 or higher in TOPIK (Test of Proficiency in Korean) can be exempt from the preliminary Korean language course. They may begin their bachelor’s degree course in the coming spring or fall semester.

4. Fields of Study: 4-year undergraduate degree programs provided by the universities below

  1. Ajou University
  2. Cheongju University
  3. Chonnam National University
  4. Chosun University
  5. Chungbuk National University
  6. Chungnam National University
  7. Daegu University
  8. Daejeon University
  9. Dong-A University
  10. Dongguk University
  11. Ewha Woman’s University
  12. Gyonggi University
  13. Gyeongsang National University
  14. Hanllym University
  15. Hankuk University of Foreign Studies
  16. Hanyang University
  17. Inha University
  18. Jeonju University
  19. Kangwon National University
  20. Keimyung University
  21. Kongju National University
  22. Konkuk University
  23. Kongyang University
  24. Kookmin University
  25. Korea University
  26. Kyunghee University
  27. Mokpo National University
  28. Myongji University
  29. Pai Chai University
  30. Pukyung National University
  31. Pusan National University
  32. Seoul National University
  33. Sogang University
  34. Sookmyung Women’s University
  35. Soon Chun Yang University
  36. Sung Kyun Kwan University
  37. Sunmoon University
  38. Ulsan University
  39. Woosuk University
  40. Woosong University
  41. Yonsei University

5. Qualifications: Prospective applicant must meet the following qualification criteria;

  1. Must be a citizen of the country to which scholarships are offered, which is also applied to his/her parents
    • Both applicant and his/her parents must not be a holder of Korean citizenship
  2. Should be under 25 years of age as of March 1, 2012 (Should be born after March, 1, 1987)
  3. Have adequate health, both physically and mentally
    • NOT Eligible: those who are pregnant or who have a severe illness
  4. Have graduated or be scheduled to graduate from a high school as of March 1, 2012
    • NOT Eligible: those who have already obtained a bachelor’s degree or a higher degree
  5. Must possess above 80% (out of 100%) cumulative grade point average (C.G.P.A.) during their entire high school period
    • C.G.P.A. should be 2.64/4.0, 2.80/4.3, 2.91/4.5 or higher [see Appendix 3]
    • If applicant’s high school evaluation criteria differs from the stated above, see 7-(2)-?
  6. Must not at any time have ever received a Korean government scholarship for an undergraduate study
  7. Must not have enrolled in an undergraduate course in Korea before
    • NOT Eligible: those who have ever enrolled at a Korean university as an exchange student
  8. Must have no limitations in travelling abroad
  9. They may be preferential selection for applicants who have proficiency in Korean or English

6. Scholarship Benefits

  1. Scholarship Period: March 1, 2012 ~ February 28, 2017
  2. Scholarship Benefits
    • Airplane ticket or airfare: The grantees will receive an airplane ticket or be paid an economy class airfare of the shortest route between their country and Korea when they come to Korea, and, thereafter, when they leave Korea after completion of their study.
    • Monthly Stipend: 800,000 won per month
    • Tuitions: The full tuition is exempted by the Korean Government and the entrance fee for the first semester by the host university.
    • Settlement Allowance: 200,000 won upon arrival
    • Repatriation Allowance: 100,000 won upon completion of studies
    • Korean Language Training Expenses: The full costs up to 1 year (NIIED pays directly to the language training institution)
    • Medical Insurance: The grantees will be provided with health insurance for major accidents and illnesses during their scholarship period.

Start your application at HERE

2012-2013 Korean Government Scholarships, Korean Scholarships for International Students, 2012-2013 Korean Government Scholarships for International Student, 2012-2013 Korean Scholarships for International Students, 2012-2013 Korean Scholarships for Developing Countries

67 Responses

  1. Is it acceptable to enroll in architecture?

  2. Hello! Is it acceptable if I graduate my school in June? Thank you!

  3. I am 19 years old and i attained good A-level passes ie 3Bs in Accounting Business Studies and Economics. I need a scholarship and i want to do Computer science. Please help

  4. This isn’t for USA citizens?

  5. I am a student of university and my family need my help,my father can not help me for further study.So i need scholarship for me and my family
    kindly accept me scholarship request

    thanks

  6. is scholorship is eligible at 70% as ur demand is above 80%

  7. i want to take only korean language course from level 1 till higher.i want teach korean language in my country can i have to scholorship?

  8. THIS IS SO COOL!!! I AM GONNA MAKE IT!!!!!!!!!!

  9. Iam a malian young emmerging leader so To build on the community organizing skills that I’ve developed over the past year while working with the Femmes et Droits Humains Organization. More specifically, I look to continue my work on social issues and finding solutions for these issues by mobilizing political activism. I would like to follow my studies in South Korea to develop a youth exchange program called : Mali korean connexion (from Han to Niger river)
    Objectives :
    1. Promote better understanding by korean youth about Mali and Malian Youth to know about Korean ;
    2. Enhance Mali korea collaboration in all aspect of life: Education, Technology Business, Agriculture, Tourims, Arts and culture…
    3. Increase the capacity of the exchange infrastructure in participating countries to engage youth in activities that advance mutual understanding, respect for diversity, and civil society

  10. how about scholarship for phd programme for malaysian citizen. tq

  11. hello . I am lao student . This is very good chang for all who want to apply for this scholarship . I want to apply this scholarship for improve myself as study in korea. Because, i just graduate high school and need to study in abroad . When i come back i will be able to develop the human resource in remote area and in my village .
    Please reply me
    Thank you .

  12. is there any scholarship for graduate students ?

    Best Regards,

  13. Am an MBA student studying in china. would like to learn the Korean language for one year. it will help me be effective in my life since am interested in various languages in the world especially Asian countries.
    Would love to take this opportunity and apply for this schorlarship.
    thanks.

  14. I’m an undergraduate student from Afghanistan studying in Mongolia International University. I really need a scholarship for my master degree in 2014.

  15. if I graduated in Israel and lived in Israel, but I have russian citizen, is it acceptable?

  16. i graduated this year 2011 thus my high school. And it is dream that continue education at your country Korea.Please the government of the should please help me out . Am a Ghanaian. Please i need a scholarship to attain aim.

  17. hello i am a somali student i graduated my high school 2009. Am yet to attend college or university am currently living in kenya, i need help from any organisation. I never got a chance to university due to financial constrain, my dream is one day to graduate with even a diploma from college coz i love education. Please help me thank you.

  18. as you all know somalia is in distruction, i run away from war, i need education so that i help myself and the millions who are suffering in Africa specialy my country. Please help me with this scholarship am confident in acheiving my dreams.
    I am a poor refugee, but that doesn’t make a looser coz even loosers have ambitions.
    Thank you.

  19. Hi… I am already a student in a not well-known university here in our country, how can I apply for this scholarship? I’m currently taking Computer Science…
    I want to study the same course… am I still eligible for it?

    Please do reply, Thank you

  20. Hello! I am Asad from Bangladesh. I wanna take a undergraduate Scholarship in Korea about Naval Architecture & ocean Engineering.
    I have topik 2 level.
    Could anyone suggest me how can i process about this?
    Bye

  21. Any 2012 scholarship for postgraduate in industrial design or product design progammes for Botswana

  22. hello and warm greetings to you distinguished and kind people:
    i would like to ask thlat if any one have done his undergraguate course in korea ,is it possible to him to take part in a master course in korea again?
    looking farward to you kind replying
    thank you
    tariq from afghanistan

  23. bagaimana cara pendaftarannya?

  24. when the selection will be held ?

  25. I actually like what you are doing and the world is actually a better place with you people.I have a dream to offer electrical engineering in korea.I hope i actually make it.Please send me the updates.Edwin

  26. how to form ,…???

  27. am a kenyan lady want to apply for undergraduate scholarship with my IBT TOEFL scores Is it applicable and I scored 88 points

  28. Um hopeful I’d get an answer if there’s any chance to complete my study life.

  29. While there’s life there’s hope.I’ve an avid for higher study.please tell us if there’s a chanceto get Master degree in Literature.

  30. Dear Sir,
    I am MSc in Agricultural Sciences and interested to get PhD scholarship in Korea. plz guide me in this regards.

    Sincerely Yours
    Amjad Ali

  31. My name is Archie from Tanzania 25years old.I need scholarship to study Korea language
    The aim of studying Korea is to attain knowledge linguistic knowledge, to develop my Korea to use my education to educate other people. I’m focusing on gaining a Korea degree language. I also need to be an interpreter and teacher of this language .Since the recent world is of world wide science and technology, Language is role key to facilitate communication all over the world this is the started above. I’m intending to peruse the duties of translation and teaching other people the Korean language especially those of my social kind from East Africa

  32. is the application is still on going?? pls reply. i really need this.. tnx!!

  33. thanks for the information i belive that by GOd’s grace i will make it

  34. HI! I’m ermias from Ethiopia who is in need of S.Korea scholarship badly. I love the S.Korea peoples, cultures, language & K-pop.
    but the most important thing is I want to learn that beautiful country.
    here because I love Korean I started to learn Korean language in more advanced way I do have some friends like who love S.Korea we always discuss and learn, share experience one another.
    and finally I want to say is that please consider how much I love Korean peoples and let me to bring my dreams come true in the future.
    tnx.

    • Hi Ermias, I just saw your post and I was wondering if things worked out for you? are you still in Ethiopia?

  35. we’re two friends from turkey. we applied the program. and we both have right to study in Hanyang University. do you know about something like the possiblity to get scholarship for us even if it’s written here “1 student for turkey” I dont know about other turkish students who had right to go and study there. but i am asking for if there is any possiblty?

  36. Will this scholarship that you offered will be eligible also for students who enrolled in university who wasn’t able to finish their course due to financial matters and withdraw. can they also be able to apply with this you scholarship program??? hope to her from you..

  37. Dear, I would like to inform that i have been working in Pharmaceuticals industry as Production Officer in Sterile dept since 2009. Previous i involved in Biochemistry Research lab(Insect enzymology) in my university, as research assistant for two years. I have two research journals( One is university and another is International). Now i like to study further as a research student in Korea. So how can i get this opportunity or get scholarship?

  38. Respective responder, I am Nepali citizen pursuing my M.Sc in agriculture economics. Probably my degree is completing by the end of June. So, may I apply for this. As, I have a good grade in both bachelors and Masters.

  39. Dear sir/madam, my name is Sewbesew Melaku from Ethiopia and being able to get a scholarship for studying abroad would be awesome. I took my first degree in 2007 from KCTE (Ethiopia) in Health & Physical Education. And my second degree in Sports Science (Exercise Physiology specialization) from Punjabi university, Patiala (India) in 2011. These days I am serving as a lecturer at Wolaita Sodo University, South Ethiopia. I want to do another masters in any other or related field or PhD. So acquiring a scholarship, financial aid or a grant for studying abroad would be wonderful. I will be very grateful!
    Thank You Very Much for your consideration!
    My e-mail address is sewbesew2005@yahoo.com

  40. My name Marwa Mahemba from Tanzania. Recently am a last year (3rd year) student from St Augustine University of Tanzania majoring in Bachelor of Science in Procurement and Supply Chain Management. It is my honor to study my master at South Korea related in supply chain and logistics after the completion of my first degree . I need scholarship to pursue my carrier in exploiting knowledge, culture, experiences in business venture and getting exposure.So i will use that knowledge and exposure to develop my community and country as whole in supply and logistics matters.
    Thank you comrade.
    +255-0712661744
    marwamahemba@yahoo.com

  41. Am a girl of seventeen years old and am very much interested to study Agriculture Economics.Currently am doing my O levels which i will finish in May 2012.Please advice me on how one can obtain the gorvenment schoolarship

  42. is there any chance for Indian to get scholarship..i would love yo learn only korean from basic to korea..and teach in my country when finish..please reply..God bless yoou.

  43. Iam somali boy and i gratuated from high school ican’t be continue the study because iam oldest boy in our family idont work and my father too dont work he is jobless now i tried once scholarship from turkia but idid not get it for such corubtion exists every where in aur country as exits evry where fighting in our country we are minority peaple live heare so i am requesting you to consider my request not to consideer what exist in my countery although i live forgetable countery other side iam boy like korean people and it is culture want to speak korea language and i need to welcome my countery south korea goverment if itis beter than this please and please help me with education and call with this phone number : 0618815021 thank you ihope korean peaple beter prosperity than than this

  44. hello,
    am from Cameroon and on looking at the details i found out Cameroon was excluded.could it be possible to consider me?
    i really do wish to further my education in law

  45. Ethiopian citizen, studying logistics and supply chain management in one of the countries university /BAHIR DAR university/, second year student having 2.83cgpa. Want to apply for scholar ship you offered, how can I make it quick and right. Thank you.

  46. An Ethiopian, studying in one of the country’s university /Bahir Dar university/ 2nd year logistics and supply chain management field, have 2.83 cgpa. Wanna apply for scholar ship and wanna know possibilities and ways of doing requirements. Thank you.

  47. hie my name is noah. I will be graduating from high school this year and wish to study in south korea. I am in seach of an undergraduate scholarship to study in korea. I am interested in architecture or civil engeneering. If any one has information on how i can obtain one or if any one can offer me one can you email me on ‘texthenurd05@gmail.com’. Ps for next year 2013

  48. Hello my name is Thomas Gideon, I’m doing my year 3 at the University of Papua New Guinea this year. I’m studying arts to ne exact I’m majoring in music, but I am interested in studying music abroad especially in South Korea.

  49. Hey i have 3.48 at ethopian grade 10 national exam and 438\700 on grade 12 university intrance exam and am learning electrical engeneering. i have 2-3 certifcat on english languge at brtish international school.The most important thing is i’m addicted to korean culture that is why am applying

  50. I’m Slovadan Alphonce living in Mwanza Tanzania, i’m so interesting in studying Korean language as we normally face language problem (esp Korean) when Koreans pay visit & when they decide making social and economic development.
    Therefore, becoming aware of Korean language will make so easier in translating to the rest.
    with much thanks to the positive regurd

  51. facebook

  52. Is it acceptable to enroll in law?
    is it true if I choose scholarship from Korea and if I already graduate, I have to work in Korea not in my country?

  53. Dear Sir/Madame
    I am RATH KESE, from Cambodia. I was graduated from high school 2008 but no money so can’t be continue study at university, my family pool and my study no very good. But now what’s important for me, I was interesting and want to get this scholarship for study Korean language in Korea. And I want to study Korea’s good morals for share my country.
    I hope us will give an opportunity for me.my
    (Email: rath.kesey@yahoo.com)
    I wait your reply. 복 많이 받으 세요!

  54. Annoghaseyo,I am Eden from Ethiopia, 23 yrs old, ‘am really want to learn in Han Kuk, especially z language, i have a BA degree on Applied Civics and Ethics, i want to study law, political science and it seems like, either MA or post graduate even under graduate. Chomal Gamsahabnida!!!!

  55. i know some Koreans, i want to know more about their culture, i really like the peoples. their ethics is so much impressed me, i really want to know more and more……Sarangeyo(korea)

  56. Hello
    Im ika yuni lestari. Im 23 years old. I graduated academy of midwifery. I so interest with scholarship in korea. Is this program still open and how can i get the test ? Thank you a lot for your attention.

  57. Good day!
    I am maki.
    I am currently enrolled in a university and I am on my senior year now in Mass communication. I want to ask if it is possible to have a scholarship in any of the university offering a full scholarship there in Korea.
    Learning your culture and language will be a lot better if we can experience it directly by studying in your country.

  58. Annoghaseyo, am eden from Ethiopia, i am a graduate(first degree), i want to learn in Hankuk my second degree, pls how can i get z scholarship, even if other degree?

  59. hello
    i want to study in korea because i want to learn about korea and i want to learn their languages hope you can help me. thank you

  60. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about
    this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message
    home a bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog.
    A great read. I will certainly be back.

  61. hi…i know how to read and write korean language but not fluent speaking of it..i just learn korean language all by myself…and im just a high school graduate…

  62. g aiment votre site sa nous permai de continu nos etude

  63. iam s tudying Post Grad Dip in Educa Leader in Uni Fiji how can i apply to come and learn in Ko

  64. Annyeong Haseyo I’m Ryan Christian Jusay from Philippines. As far as i know my Korean friend ask you about foreign scholars in Korea. Me and my friend wants to be but how? Do you have facebook account? Please contact me here ~ https://www.facebook.com/ryanchristian.jusay .. I promise that we will study very hard for your school. We like to become scholar because we are poor and have a lot of financial problem. We love your country (South Korea) very much that why we want. Hopefully me and my friend will be a scholar in your school . We will do all we can for scholarship. By the way, how could be apply an scholarship? What do you need for that? What requirements do you need? Please response my message for you. This is my phone number (+639994454757 or +639982648461). Thank You very much and hopefully we we will do it

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 641 other followers

