Joint Japan/World Bank Graduate Scholarship Program 2010-2011

Overview

Source: http://scholarization.blogspot.com

Scholarization: the mission of the World Bank Group is to reduce poverty and improve living standards through sustainable development and investment in people. The World Bank Institute (WBI) is at the forefront of the Bank’s efforts to promote learning and deliver to the stakeholders, the best thinking and experience emerging from around the world on issues crucial to reform and socio-economic development.

Through its management of the Joint Japan/World Bank Graduate Scholarship Program (JJ/WBGSP) and the Robert S. McNamara Fellowships Program (RSM Fellowships), WBI supplements its training programs by providing opportunities for graduate study to promising professionals from developing member countries.

The objective of the Scholarship and Fellowship Programs is to help create an international community of highly-trained professionals working in the field of economic and social development. The community will actively participate in the capacity building efforts in the developing countries.

Eligibility Criteria

To apply for a JJ/WBGSP scholarship under the Regular Program, an applicant should read carefully the application procedure as outlined in documents below:

Eligibility

To apply for a JJ/WBGSP scholarship under the Regular Program, an applicant must:

- Be a national of a World Bank member country eligible to borrow.
- Be born after March 31, 1970.
- Have, by March 31, 2010, at least 2, preferably 4 to 5, years of recent full time professional experience acquired after a university degree, in the applicant’s home country or in another developing country.
- Hold a bachelor’s degree or its equivalent.
- Be in good health.
- Be of good character.
- Not be a permanent resident or a national of any industrialized country.
- Not be residing in an industrialized country for more than one year.
- Not be an Executive Director, his/her alternate, staff of the World Bank Group (the World Bank, International Finance Corporation, International Development Association, Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency, and International Center for Settlement of Investment Disputes), consultant, or relative of the aforementioned.

Program of Study

Eligible applicants should propose a program of study related to development at the master’s level, in fields such as economics, health, education, agriculture, environment, natural resource management, or other development‑related subject. The proposed program of study should start during the academic year 2010/2011 for a maximum duration of two years. The JJ/WBGSP does not support applicants who are already enrolled (i.e., taking classes) in graduate degree programs.

Applicants should submit evidence of current unconditional admission to at least one development-related university master’s degree program. Applicants are encouraged to apply to one of the Preferred Universities. The Program does not support studies in the applicant’s home country. The Program does not support applicants for MBA, MDs, M.Phil. or Ph.D. degrees. The Program does not support legal studies such as J.D., L.L.M. or S.J.D. except for L.L.M.’s related to human rights, environment, or good governance

Selection Criteria

Eligible applications are assessed according to three main factors: academic excellence, professional experience, and relevance of program of study. Priority is given to candidates from the public sector with a high potential to impact the development in their own countries after completion of their studies. To the extent permitted by Program requirements and selection standards, the JJ/WBGSP:

- seeks to maintain a reasonably wide geographical distribution of awards and gives priority to applicants from low-income countries
- supports promising female candidates
- gives priority to those candidates who, other things equal, have limited financial resources

Benefits

The JJ/WBGSP scholarship provides annual awards to cover the cost of completing a master’s degree or its equivalent. The awards are given for one year and, provided that the academic program is longer than one year, may be renewed for a second consecutive year or a portion thereof, subject to satisfactory academic performance in the first year and the availability of funds. There is an absolute two year maximum limit on JJ/WBGSP awards.

The scholarship provides benefits for the recipient only, covering:

- economy class air travel between the home country and the host university at the start of the study program and one return journey following the end of the overall scholarship period. In addition to the ticket, scholars receive a US $500 travel allowance for each trip;
- tuition and the cost of basic medical and accident insurance usually obtained through the university;
- a monthly subsistence allowance to cover living expenses, including books.

The JJ/WBGSP scholarship does not cover:

- expenses for the scholar’s family
- extra-curricular courses or training
- language training
- additional travel during the course of the study program
- additional expenses related to research, supplementary educational materials, field trips, or participation in workshops, seminars, or internships while at the host university; or
- educational equipment such as computers

In addition:

The scholarship award is valid for the academic year immediately following the offer of award and cannot be deferred for any reason.

The amount of scholarship may vary depending upon the host country and the tuition charged by the host university. In recent years the annual value of a scholarship has averaged around US$35,000.

The JJ/WBGSP scholarship only supplements, and does not duplicate, any other source of financial support/fellowship the scholar might have. Scholars must inform the JJ/WBGSP if they have other sources of scholarship funds. The JJ/WBGSP stipend may be withdrawn completely or partially if during the scholarship period the Program has evidence of additional sources of support.

How to apply

Applications are usually available as:

on-line application form presented in English, French, and Spanish
pdf files that can be downloaded from JJ/WBGSP website

Please note that applicants are encouraged to seek admissions in institutions listed in the website under Preferred Universities 2010-2011.Paper copies of completed applications and all required supporting documents should be sent to:

The World Bank
Joint Japan/World Bank Graduate Scholarship Program
1818 H Street, NW – MSN J2-204
Washington, DC 20433USA

Applications sent by fax or e-mail are not accepted.

The application together with ALL supporting documentation must be received in the Scholarship Program Office by the deadline of March 31, 2010. Applicants should make the necessary provision to ensure receipt of their application package before the deadline. The program Secretariat is not responsible of any possible delay in mail delivery.

Due to the large volume of paperwork handled by the JJ/WBGSP Secretariat, it is not possible to respond to telephone or mail requests regarding the status of applications.

APPLICANTS WILL BE NOTIFIED OF RESULTS BY THE END OF JULY 2010.

Further information about this scholarship can be found at: http://web.worldbank.org/WBSITE/EXTERNAL/WBI/EXTWBISFP/EXTJJWBGSP/0,,contentMDK:20276784~menuPK:551652~pagePK:64168445~piPK:64168309~theSitePK:551644,00.html

Please kindly mention Scholarization.blogspot.com when applying for this scholarship

Tags: Scholarships for Ethiopia, Fellowship for Ethiopia, Scholarship for Ethiopia 2010, Scholarships for Ethiopia 2011, Scholarships for Ethiopia 2010-2011, Scholarships for Ethiopia 2011-2012, Scholarship and Fellowship for Ethiopia 2011, Fellowship 2011 for Ethiopia, Scholarships for Ethiopian Students, Scholarship for Ethiopian Citizen, Fellowship for Ethiopian Students 2011, Fellowship for Ethiopian Citizen 2010, World Bank Scholarship for Ethiopia, Ethiopian Scholarships 2011-2012, Ethiopian Fellowship and Scholarship 2010

37 Responses

  1. I have BA in accounting from Hawassa University ,Ethiopia in 2007. now working for UN-Agency(UNICEF,UNDP,WFP & UNFPA).
    At present searching for MBA around the world.
    thanks !!
    Gemechu Gemeda
    Mettu ,Ethiopia

  2. tired of searching for MBA on many sites

  3. Dear sir/madam,
    My name is Beyene Teklu from Ethiopia and i have MSc degree in animal production. Now i am working as a lecturer at Hawassa university. At present i am searching for PhD in related field
    Thanks

  4. Dear sir/madam,
    My Name is Adane Gebeyehu fromBahirDarUniversity- Ethiopia and i have BSc degree in Plant Sciences and Now i am working as an lnstructorat Bahir Dar university. At present i am searching forMsc in related fields(plant biotechnology,bioinformatics, plant breeding and genetics,………..)

    Thanks!!!

  5. Dear sir/madam,
    My Name is Beza Muche from Ethiopia and i have BA degree in banking and insurance and Msc degree in finance and investment from jimma and mekelle university respectively. Now i am working as an lnstructorat wollega university. At present i am searching for Msc in economics and related field of study.

    Thanks!!!

  6. dear sir/madam,
    my name is Cheptoris Charity. i have a Bachelors of Adult and Community Education from Makerere university Uganda. i would like a fulltime scholarship with worldbank/Japan scholarship 2010/2011in public health. currently, am working with an NGO dealing in HIV and reproductive health. I will be greatful if given opportunity in any university.
    thank you.

  7. I am Temesgen From Ethiopia searching scholarship opportunity. I have BA in political science and International Relations From Addis Ababa universty. I am seekin scholarships in the field of Political economy, international relations, political science,development studies, comparative politics or any related fields.

  8. Dear sir/madam,
    My Name is Hassan from sudan and i have BA degree in RURAL DEVELOPMENTand iCOMMUNITY STUDIES and Msc degree in CONFLICT RESULATION AND PEACE DEVELOPMENT from JUBA university . Now i am working UN MISSION IN DARFUR . am searching for Msc in DEVELOPMENT and related field of study.

  9. My name is Hamdi from ethiopia and i have BSc in geology from Sudan, now i a working Water, Mines and energy nureau in Somali Regional State, ethiopia. i am searching for MSc in Earth Science, GIS, Enviromental sciecne and related field of study.
    thank you
    Hamdi Ahmed
    Jigjiga, SRS
    Ethiopia

  10. My name is fitsum manguday gashaw,i am gratuated haramaya university in BA for management,so i need MA or MSC for any management related field,please contact to study ,i am working with governimental institutions,wellcome.
    “THANK U”

  11. I am graduted from Jimma University in BA degree in Business Management & now I am working in Jimma University Revenue Generation & Investment office.If I get chance ,I want to be continue in my education in MA or MSC ,please help me. ‘”Thank you”.

  12. welcome! i will sponsor U

  13. I am Eyasu Tariku From Ethiopia searching scholarship opportunity. I have Bsc in construcation technology from adama universty. I am seekin scholarships in the field of civil Engeneerig haigh way engenering construcation technology & Managementes and any filed related with my profasstion If I get chance ,I want to be continue in my education in MA or MSC ,please help me.
    “For helpe thank you”

  14. I am looking for upgrade my study in first degree level know i am public health diploma and i want to study health related field . I would like to thank you for giving us this opportunity GOD bless you.

  15. Dear Sir/Madam,
    My name is Edwige Kampire from Rwanda and I have an MSc degree in Chemistry from Makerere University (2009). Now I am working as an Assistant lecturer at Kigali Institute of Education. At present I am searching for PhD in related field
    Thanks

    • My name is YAZACHEW from ethiopia and i have BAin Banking and insurance from Adama university, now i a working as regional socio-economic profile analyst oronia Regional State, ethiopia. i am searching for MA in any social related field of study.
      thank you
      yazachew etefa

      Ethiopia

      Reply

    • Dear Edwige
      Lecturer at KIE, can not find the tuition fees ?
      Good Lucky

  16. I am Tesema begna From Ethiopia searching scholarship opportunity. I have BA in economics From unity universty. I am seekin scholarships in the field of economy, and development studies, or any related fields.
    good louck.

  17. I am Ethiopian female student have BED in Mathematicsdoing my masters in urban management specializing transport provision and management and plan to graduate next July,am crrentely doing my thesis on the topic “Challenges of Inter-Urban Transport in East Wollega Zone” am happy if I get a fully funded shollarship in Transpor Planing and engneering or Gender and democratization issues

  18. I am from Somalia I have BSc in applied chemistry from International University Of Africa(I.U.A) Sudan Krt
    I am looking for MSc in water quality management scholarship thanks
    Yahye Esse.

  19. Dear sir/madam,
    I’m Abdisa Tadesse from Jimma, Ethiopia and teaching here in Jimma.I have B.ED in language from Jimma university.As we know education is key to solve the developmental problems from this universe.And aslo it plays great role to eradicate pooverty and ellitracy.So if you provide me scholarship program i will contribute a lot for this World especially for my continenet Africa.
    Thanks.
    sincerly,Abdisa T.

  20. I am from Ethiopia. I am a graduate of LLB. Currently I am seeking scholarship program to study my LL.M Please help me get this chance.

  21. Dear/Madam!
    i am very interested while writing this reply to your website address. i was graduated in BEd. degree from Adama university in Surveying Technology and MSc. degree in Environmental Planning and Landscape Design from addis ababa university since 2006 and 2010 academic year respectively. now i am looking for upgrading my study to PhD level in any related area of study. Having this in to consideration, please help me to get the chance.

  22. I’m Bsc holder from Somali National University,looking for Msc Plant Biotechnology .
    Looking forward
    my be you will accept
    I don’t know
    we will see
    Thanks in advance

  23. hello am christina frm south africa,am looking for a schoolership around the world pls help me i just finish my matric i was doing history and geography

  24. hello there i am kumneger from Ethiopia looking for law scholarship . i am currently working @ the federal ethics and anti corruption . now i am looking for upgrading my study if possible in legal service . please help me to get the chance tank you in advance

  25. hello i am roba from ethiopia looking for networking scholarship.now i am university student in computer sciene.next year i will graduate.after my graduation i am interested to study about networking .please help me as much as possible .
    thank you!

  26. I’ve B.Ed in geography(GPA 3.01). I’m looking for environment related masters scholarship. Thank you!

  27. Dear sir/madam
    this is chalachew from Ethiopia and i am graduated my BSC. in statistics in Ethiopian recognized university on July 2010.and currently i am employed at national bank of Ethiopia .I have the ambition to continue MSC. in bio statistics or other statistics related fields. i am waiting full scholarship including all expenses including travel fees. so if u gave me this chance i will be effective.
    Thank you for your regards,

  28. Demissie Chanie
    Dear sir/Madam
    I am Demissie from Etiopia. I have BSc degree in Animal,Rengelad and Wildlife science from mekelle university Ethiopia with CGPA of 3.58 In 2009 and I am now working as instructor in one of college in Ethiopia. In adition to this I am know learning my MSc In Animal production privetely in Bahirdar university summer program 2011. But , I found it to be very dificult financialy to complet it with out any helper. So to achive my goal I am steraching my hand towards scolarshiop. so pelase help me if ther is any opportunity.
    thanks for your help.
    BYe!!! send mesage now as u get this comment demissie23@gmail.com or cdemissie@yahoo.com

  29. Dear Sir/Madam.

    I am an Ethiopian citizen who completed my bachelor degree with major Statistics and minor Economics with distinction from Dilla University, Ethiopia. Currently I am working as a junior research officer in Economic Modeling and Policy Analysis Directorate in a higher hierarchy institution called National Bank of Ethiopia which is located in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. I am looking forward for any chance that I can peruse my Masters level education in the field statistics or if possible economics.

    Thanking You.

  30. I am Joseph G. Mehdeh, an African from post war Liberia. I hold Bachelor degree in Sociology with 8years of extensive training and practical work experiences in deveopment and Peace.

    The opportunity is great, when do we expect another call for application again?

    I’m interested in earning a master degree in ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE. My country needs more environmentalists and I also nee to contrbute to the strategies to curb the global ENVIRONMENTAL crisis.

    Thanks
    Joseph G. Mehdeh
    Deveopment Practitioner
    Liberia

  31. Dear sir /madam
    i am Anusha Shyamalee from Sri Lanka, I have BSc degree in Agriculture from university of Ruhuna Sri Lanka-2004 and I am now working as a Plant breeder in Department of Agriculture. In addition i have completed my MSc In Crop protection in 2009 privetely in same University, my hope is to follow Plant breeding course. (Ph.D)- so pelase help me if ther is any opportunity.

  32. Dear sir /mada

    My name is DanielTadele from Ethiopia.I have been graduated from Mekele University in Dry land Crop and horticulture Science in BSc and also i graduate From Hawasa University in Dry land Forestry in MSc holder. I have been working in Madawalabu University as a Lecture. i have observed this golden scholarship message while,i am searching for scholarship opportunity abroad.so, i want to peruse my MSc degree in field of Molecular biology and Biotechnology if you give the chance to me. I hope that you will realize my dream through fulfilling my request. I will submit the necessary documents if you have allowed to me.

    I thank you in advance for your kind cooperation

  33. To: Scholarship Committee

    Dear Sir/Madam

    My Name is Mustafe Abdulkadir. I am student who graduated from Gollis University and has B.Sc. of agriculture and natural resource management. I completed my B.Sc. in August, 2011 and then I became Assistant Dean of my Faculty and also offer some agricultural courses for the freshmen. Gollis University located Hargeisa, Somaliland (Northern Somalia).

    I would like to specialize plant pathology in my master degree and I have chosen this field to solve the problem of plant diseases that exist in my country.

    The below is my background information:

    CURRICULUM VITAE
    Name: Mustafe
    Last name: Abdulkadir
    Birth date: 1/5/1989
    Gender: Male
    Nationality: Somali
    Cell phone: +2522 4019176
    E-mail: mustafe034@hotmail.com

    EDUCATIONAL BACKGROUND
    University: Gollis University
    Degree: B.Sc. of agriculture and natural resource management
    Grade: excellent, GPA: 3.80/4.00

    I will be highly appreciated to your respond

    Thank you

  34. sir , i which to apply in your institution .

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 638 other followers

